KinasePro

Kinase Chemistry – Just a year and a half behind the times.

Read anything good lately?

Posted by kinasepro on October 5, 2007

Got any advice for somebody who wants to know everything there is to know about Kinases in Drug Discovery? Here’s all I’ve got:

  • Two reviews:

Current Signal Transduction 2007, 67-95

Current Medicinal Chemistry 2006, 1735-1748

  • A book: (haven’t read it yet)

Protein Tyrosine Kinases: From Inhibitors to Useful Drugs

  • Some more books: (that look like I should probably want to read them)

Progress in Medicinal Chemistry
Progress in Heterocyclic Chemistry

  • And did I mention I have a reading list on my reading list?
6 Responses to “Read anything good lately?”

  1. The one I am reading is
    Inhibitors of Cyclin-dependent Kinases as Anti-tumor Agents
    All these books are so damn expensive 😦

  2. braf.v600e said

    This one is a bit old, but still worth a read:

    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/sites/entrez?Db=pubmed&Cmd=ShowDetailView&TermToSearch=15023365&ordinalpos=1&itool=EntrezSystem2.PEntrez.Pubmed.Pubmed_ResultsPanel.Pubmed_RVAbstractPlus

  3. rookie said

    I spent my up-to-now weekend to read these papers recommended
    by you experts

    Current Signal Transduction 2007, 67-95
    Current Medicinal Chemistry 2006, 1735-1748

    I should say….. my beautiful Fall weekend was messed up by such readings.
    The first paper, for example, just listed some compounds (mixed up with some typoed structures) for different types of kinases without any insights-
    —I do not know why, how…, maybe.., I know a little bit about what. For the second paper, I doubted any bio-/chemo-/ informatic ‘Toolkits’ worked or
    will work out a single novel good compound because these types of tools are far from useful prediction in lead optimization even if they are helpful to design a focused libray. I would be happy if you experts can show me a single reliable example for these ‘novel’ tools to do this. Welcome your feedback.

  4. rookie said

    I also read
    Inhibitors of Cyclin-dependent Kinases as Anti-tumor Agents
    (recommended by Wavefunction).
    WF: do you really think CDKs are good anti-tumor targets?
    From the listed reference, the pharmaceutical fields have been working on
    these kinases for many years, why not a single drug has come out yet?
    Any expert can give me an answer?

  5. kinasepro said

    So I guess you haven’t read anything good lately then, eh?

    Broad spectrum CDK inhibition = synergy with cytotoxics + acute tox + immunosuppression. My feeling is that as with most of this stuff, the jury is still out if the newer more selective breed will do anything w/o the tox burden.

  6. rookie said

    KP, Thank you for your comments, really make sense to me. You are right, I gave up to read these listed papers again. Particularly, the chemi- bio- informatic ‘toolkits’ are misleading, don’t you think so?

Leave a Reply

 
